VSEA Endorses Dunne, Zuckerman, Others in Groundbreaking Process


June 7, 2016



VSEA Issued The Following Press Release This Afternoon:

For Immediate Release
Steve Howard
(o) (802) 223-5247
(c) (802) 793-7930
CASTLETON, V.T.—After an extensive, innovative, and inclusive endorsement process, the Vermont State Employees’ Association (VSEA) voted to endorse Matt Dunne in the Democratic Gubernatorial Primary, David Zuckerman in the Democratic Lieutenant Gubernatorial Primary, and a slate of other candidates across both statewide and local primary races. For the first time, VSEA’s endorsement process included a straw poll of rank and file members, multiple gubernatorial candidate forums, and a host of other efforts that provided direct interaction between political candidates and the union’s more than 5,500 active members.
“The real winners in today’s endorsements are the members of this union,” said VSEA President Dave Bellini. “The message has gone out today across Vermont—the members of VSEA are watching this state’s political process, and we will be heard.”
The weeks-long endorsement process saw state employees from the Northeast Kingdom to Bennington County meeting personally with candidates at multiple events to share their political concerns, question the candidates on their platforms, and to speak out.
“Direct democracy, transparency, and fairness have been the cornerstones of this member-driven process,” said Margaret Crowley, chair of VSEA’s Legislative Committee. “The degree of member participation in these endorsements is unprecedented, and allows VSEA to show its full strength.”
In House and Senate primaries, VSEA’s endorsements included several candidates from its own ranks, including Rep. Rachael Fields from Bennington 2-1, Judy P. Rosenstreich in Chittenden 6-4, Evan Hill in Grand Isle-Chittenden, and both Cheri Goldstein and Aimee Towne in Lamoille-Washington.
The complete list of VSEA primary endorsements may be found below.


Statewide Races

Democratic Gubernatorial Primary

Matt Dunne


Democratic Lieutenant Gubernatorial Primary

David Zuckerman


Democratic State Treasurer Primary

Beth Pearce


Democratic Attorney General

TJ Donovan


Vermont Senate


Philip Baruth
Faisal Gill
Debbie Ingram
Christopher A. Pearson
Michael Sirotkin



George Gay



Francis K. Brooks
Ashley A. Hill
Anthony Pollina


Allison Clarkson
Richard “Dick” McCormack
Alice W. Nitka

Vermont House

Addison 1

Jill Charbonneau
Amy Sheldon

Addison 4

Mari Cordes


Bennington 2-1

Rachael Fields


Chittenden 1

Steve May


Chittenden 6-4

Selene Colburn
Judy P. Rosenstreich


Grand Isle-Chittenden

Evan Hill



Cheri Goldstein
Avram Patt
Aimee Towne


Washington 5

Virginia “Ginny” Burley


Windsor 3-1

Melody Reed


Windsor 3-2

Alice M. Emmons
Robert “Bob” Forguites


Windsor 4-2

Gabrielle Lucke

Windsor-Orange 2

Nick Clark
Jim Masland




Stay Up To Date!

Sign Up For Our Weekly Newsletter!

Follow Our Facebook And Twitter!