Concurrent House Resolution H.C.R. 41 – February 17, 2015

House concurrent resolution honoring Vermont State Employees for their exemplary public service

Offered by: Representatives Davis of Washington, Bancroft of Westford, Bartholomew of Hartland, Batchelor of Derby, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Burke of Brattleboro, Buxton of Tunbridge, Carr of Brandon, Chesnut-Tangerman of Middletown Springs, Cole of Burlington, Condon of Colchester, Connor of Fairfield, Copeland-Hanzas of Bradford, Dakin of Chester, Dakin of Colchester, Deen of Westminster, Devereux of Mount Holly, Donahue of Northfield, Donovan of Burlington, Eastman of Orwell, Emmons of Springfield, Evans of Essex, Fields of Bennington, Forguites of Springfield, French of Randolph, Gonzalez of Winooski, Grad of Moretown, Graham of Williamstown,   Greshin   of   Warren,   Haas   of   Rochester,   Head   of South Burlington, Hebert of Vernon, Higley of Lowell, Hubert of Milton, Jerman of Essex, Jewett of Ripton, Keenan of St. Albans City, Komline of Dorset, Krowinski of Burlington, Lawrence of Lyndon, Lenes of Shelburne, Lewis of Berlin, Lippert of Hinesburg, Long of Newfane, Lucke of Hartford, Macaig of Williston, Manwaring of Wilmington, Marcotte of Coventry, Martin of Wolcott, Masland of Thetford, McCormack of Burlington, McCullough of Williston, McFaun of Barre Town, Miller of Shaftsbury, Morris of Bennington, Mrowicki of Putney, Myers of Essex, Nuovo of Middlebury, O’Brien of Richmond, O’Sullivan of Burlington,  Partridge  of  Windham, Patt of Worcester, Pearson of Burlington, Poirier of Barre City,  Pugh  of South Burlington, Rachelson of Burlington, Russell of Rutland City, Ryerson of Randolph, Scheuermann of Stowe, Shaw of Pittsford, Sheldon of Middlebury, Smith of New Haven, Stevens of Waterbury, Stuart of Brattleboro, Sullivan of Burlington, Sweaney of Windsor, Tate of Mendon, Townsend of South Burlington, Troiano of Stannard, Viens of Newport City, Woodward of Johnson, Wright of Burlington, and Zagar of Barnard

Whereas, according to the Vermont Department of Human Services Workforce Report for fiscal year 2014, in the executive branch’s classified service there are 7,403 full-time and 161 part-time employees, and the comparable numbers for the much smaller exempt category are 580 and 45, respectively, and

Whereas, these 8,189 State employees work in numerous occupations and professions across the State, and

Whereas, Vermont State Employees are employed in fields as diverse as agriculture, computer science, corrections, health care, historic preservation, law enforcement, and transportation, and

Whereas, these outstanding individuals are called upon to report to work in emergency and difficult conditions, including  blizzards  and  tropical storms, and

Whereas, Vermont State Employees serve as the ambassadors of Vermont State government to the world-at-large, and

Whereas, despite instances when they must interact with angry and frustrated individuals, Vermont State Employees always strive to perform their duties in the most professional manner possible, and

Whereas, it is not unusual to hear or read criticism of Vermont State Employees, but praise is often in short supply, and

Whereas, today, February 17, 2015, is State Employees Legislative Day at the State House and offers a wonderful opportunity for the General Assembly to express its appreciation and gratitude for Vermont State Employees’ continuing dedication to serving the public, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:
That the General Assembly honors Vermont State Employees for their exemplary public service, and be it further

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to the Vermont State Employees’ Association.