VSEA Staff Heading To DCF FSD Offices Statewide On Monday

To VSEA Members Working In DCF and FSD:

On Monday, August 31, VSEA will be conducting statewide meetings where DCF FSD members can discuss in an open forum their needs, concerns and ideas for improvements regarding safety in the workplace.

Below is a tentative schedule for these meetings as well as an agenda. Some of the meeting locations have yet to be confirmed but we will update members as soon as the details are set.

All members are welcome to join!

If you have any questions please contact the VSEA staff member listed below at the meeting location nearest you, or call 802-223-5247.


Schedule: Monday, August 31

Barre
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Barre- Large Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Gretchen Naylor gnaylor@vsea.org,
Steve Howard showard@vsea.org

Bennington
11:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Bennington State Office Building (232 Main Street, Brattleboro),

Large Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Rachael Fields rfields@vsea.org

Brattleboro
11:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Brattleboro Family Services Office, Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Tim Boyle tboyle@vsea.org

Central Office
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Skunk Hollow Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Kelly Burns Everhart kburns@vsea.org

Middlebury
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
FSD Office
VSEA Staff Contact: Brian Morse bmorse@vsea.org

Morrisville
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
63 Prof. Drive. ESD Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Jen Larsen jlarsen@vsea.org

Newport
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
CCV – look for classroom
VSEA Staff Contact: Gary Hoadley ghoadley@vsea.org

Rutland
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
DCF-FSD large conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Dave Van Deusen dvandeusen@vsea.org

Springfield
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
State office building,
1st Floor Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: Bob South bsouth@vsea.org

St. Albans
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
27 Federal St. 1st Floor Conference Room
VSEA Staff Contact: John Brabant jbrabant@vsea.org

St. Johnsbury
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
67 Eastern Ave. Lg. Conference Room, DCF
VSEA Staff Contact: Tim Lenoch tlenoch@vsea.org

White River Junction
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
WRJ State office bldg., 118 State Street, Large Conference room
VSEA Staff Contact: Ben Palkowski bpalkowski@vsea.org

Williston
Meeting already held


Agenda:

Safety Meeting Agenda – Monday, August 31, 2015

Goals:

Show support and solidarity with FSD/ DCF frontline workers

Provide updated information and gain feedback from workers

I. Introductions

II. Open forum on safety needs and concerns and ideas for improvement.

III. Update on FSD labor-management committee.

IV. Request from VSEA unit chairs to the Shumlin Administration

V. Discuss VSEA proposed safety campaign:


Proposed Work Place Safety Campaign

Step 1: Send out union-wide survey on workplace safety to identify potential security problems from the perspective of the front line workers.

Reissue a new FSD survey on safety as part of the survey phase.

Step 2: Deploy staff to the 13 DCF offices for lunch meetings with members.

Step 3: Plan strategies for future FSD Labor Management Committee meetings.

Step 4: Send a letter from the Unit Chairs and the leadership to plan for an agreement on safety.

Step 5: Conduct a public rally for work place safety.

Step 6: Launch a Support fund for Lara Sobel’s family.

Step 7: Introduce a legislative agenda to address Workplace safety and related staffing needs.

Step 8: Lobby the Administration and Legislators to adopt the plan.


Thank you.
We look forward to seeing you and your colleagues Monday.

If you have any questions please contact the VSEA staff member listed above at the meeting location nearest you, or call 802-223-5247.

 

Stay Up To Date!

Sign Up For Our Weekly Newsletter!

Follow Our Facebook And Twitter!